Quick Answer: Should I Free Up Space Google Photos?

Does Google Photos take up storage on phone?

Launched in 2015, Google Photos is a tool that can store photos, videos and screenshots taken by your phone.

It’s a solid media backup to have at your disposal.

And, because it’s a cloud-based tool, it can free up space on your phone.

Plus, it works on both Android and iOS devices..

Why won’t Google Photos free up space?

Hello Michael, try going to settings > apps > google photos > storage > clear data/storage. This would reset the photos app to factory settings without deleting your photos. This should hopefoly sort out the issue.

How do I stop Google Photos from taking up space?

Disabling the “Free up space” prompt is not possible. If you want this feature , you can send the feedback to Google Photos team….They will release this feature based on their priority.Open Google Photos app.At the top left, open the Menu , then select Send feedback.Write about your need.

Does clearing data delete photos?

No, image will not be deleted, because when you clear the app data its only clear the setting of that app like account and login info or some cache data that was required for running the app.

Do photos stay on Google photos if deleted from phone?

Tap on Device Folders to see all folders that have photos on the device. Select one or more photos that are on the device. At the top right, tap on the “3 dots” menu icon. … The photos selected will be deleted from your phone, but the Google Photos photo will remain.

Why is Google Photos taking up storage?

Every photo you upload on Google Photos Account will be cached to the memory as soon as you open it. This makes it faster to load pictures without having to re-download each time you open it. … That caching takes up storage space. Thankfully, Google Photos have the option to limit cache size.

What should I delete when my phone storage is full?

In the app’s Application info menu, tap Storage and then tap Clear Cache to clear the app’s cache. To clear cached data from all apps, go to Settings > Storage and tap Cached data to clear the caches of all the apps on your phone.

How do I clean up my Google Photos?

Delete photos & videosOn your computer, go to photos.google.com.Point at the item you want to delete. At the top left, click Select .At the top right, click Trash. Move to trash.

Can I delete photos if they are backed up on Google Photos?

Open the Google Photos app on your Android phone. Tap on Free up device space from the side menu, and then tap on Free up button to remove those photos from your device. The deleted photos will still be present in Google Photos.

Will deleting Google Photos app delete my photos?

If you delete synced photos from the Google Photos app, it will be deleted from everywhere – your device, the Google Photos app, the Google Photos website, and your file manager app. This will happen even if your Backup & Sync feature is on and whether you’re using an Android or iPhone.

What is the catch with Google Photos?

Google Photos provides unlimited space for cloud-based backups, but there’s a catch: You have to use the service’s “high-quality” setting, which limits photos to 16MP and videos to 1080p resolution.

What happens when I free up space on Google Photos?

Whenever you use the Free Up Space option in Google Photos, all photos and videos that are already safely backed up to the cloud will be removed from local storage. In other words, Google Photos will delete the originals. … If you don’t see it to the top of the screen, you can always access it via the Google Photos menu.

Where do my photos go when I free up space?

See your photos and videos, including the ones you just removed, in the Google Photos app and photos.google.com.